Michael Norris (New Zealand)

Michael Norris Michael Norris (b. 1973, Dunedin) is a Wellington-based composer.

He holds composition degrees from Victoria University of Wellington and City University, London, and is currently Programme Leader (Composition) at the New Zealand School of Music.

In 2003, Michael won the Douglas Lilburn Prize, a nationwide competition for orchestral composers.

He is also co-founder and co-director of Stroma New Music Ensemble, and has participated in composition courses featuring leading composers such as Peter Eötvös, Alvin Lucier, Christian Wolff and Kaija Saariaho.

His recent chamber orchestra work Sgraffito was commissioned by the SWR (Sudwestdeutsche Rundfunk) and premiered at the Donaueschinger Musiktage 2010 by the Radio Chamber Orchestra Hilversum, conducted by Peter Eötvös.