Rachael Morgan (New Zealand)

Rachael Morgan download sample
of full score
programme notes

New Zealand composer Rachael Morgan is currently interested in an exploration of naturally occurring acoustic properties of sound and timbral nuances.

Her works have received performances by leading international soloists and ensembles including 175East, Okta, Gate Seven, SMP, the Auckland Academy Orchestra, and the Tudor Consort. Musikhochshule Lubeck performed idiosyncrasies as part of their Neue Musik Aus Neuseeland festival.

Rachael completed her BMus in Composition at Waikato University, studying with Martin Lodge and Michael Williams. She then went on to study at Victoria University of Wellington, receiving her MMus with distinction, under the tutelage of Michael Norris. In 2008 Rachael received the Edwin Carr Foundation Scholarship, allowing her to attend international festivals and workshops and study with renowned composers in the UK and Europe, including six months studying with Fabio Cifariello Ciardi in Italy. She currently lectures at Unitec, Auckland.

For more information see www.sounz.org.nz